Site Search
Nobel Prize In Physics Awarded
Send to friend
Add to Favorite

5 Oct 2016 01:41 AM EST

David Thouless of the University of Washington in Seattle, J. Michael Kosterlitz of Brown University and Duncan Haldane of Princeton University received the 2016 Nobel Prize in physics on Tuesday for their research, which predicted new types of materials and spurred interest in the field of topological materials. The three scientists’ work was united by concepts from topology, a branch of mathematics that deals with the study of shapes. In topology, different shapes are distinguished by abrupt transitions. Such developments have led to an explosion of interest in the new types of topological materials, one of the hottest topics in physics.

Post Your Comment
Excellent Very Good Good Fair Poor

Recently Posted Comments